National Curriculum


Click on the links below if you would like to know more about the subjects in the National Curriculum.

You will also find information about assessment and attainment.


The National Curriculum

The ‘basic’ school curriculum includes the ‘National Curriculum’, as well as Religious Education.

The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.


British Values

The Department for Education defines British Values as follows:

  • Respect for democracy and support or participation in the democratic process                        
  • Respect for the basis on which the law is made and applies in England
  • Support for equality of opportunity for all
  • Support and respect for the liberties of all within the law
  • Respect for and tolerance of different faiths and religious and other beliefs

We ensure that the fundamental British Values are introduced, discussed and lived out through the ethos and work of the school. All curriculum areas provide a vehicle for furthering understanding of these concepts and provide opportunities to deepen and develop understanding. We encourage our children to be creative, unique, open-minded and independent individuals, respectful of themselves and of others in our school, our local community and the wider world. We aim to nurture our children on their journey through life so they can grow into safe, caring, democratic, responsible and tolerant adults who make a positive difference to British Society and to the world.


Our Long Term Plan

Below, you will find a list of our topics for each year group. To find out more about what our pupils learn in each topic, click on a year group tab on the left-hand side of the page.