Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Myrtle Road Ravensthorpe Dewsbury West Yorkshire WF13 3AS

• T: 01924 907082

F: 01924 907087


Contact Us

Head Teacher

      Mr Sheldon Parkin          BSc (Hons) NPQH

Chair of Governors

Revd Canon Ian Wildey

Administrative contact Mrs Nicola Summerscales  
Myrtle Road
WF13 3AS
  Telephone number 01924 907082  
  Fax number 01924 907087  
  Email address


 About the school

  School type Voluntary Controlled Junior School
  School phase Primary
  Age range 7-11
  Ward Dewsbury West

 Full time equivalent           teachers

 Full time non-teaching 2
 Part time non-teaching 29
 Number on roll 440
 Capacity of school 432

 Published admission   number 2016-17


 Published admission   number 2017-18

 Resourced provision No

Ravensthorpe CE (VC) Junior School is a voluntary controlled school in the Anglican Diocese of Leeds - formerly known as the Diocese of West Yorkshire and the Dales.

Click on the logo to visit the Diocese of Leeds  website.


What is a voluntary controlled school?

Voluntary controlled schools are state-funded schools in England, Wales and Northern Ireland in which a foundation or trust (usually a Christian denomination) has some formal influence in the running of the school. Controlled schools have less autonomy than voluntary aided schools, in which the foundation pays part of any building costs.

Voluntary controlled schools are a kind of "maintained school", meaning that they are funded by central government via the local authority, and do not charge fees to students. 

The land and buildings are typically owned by a charitable foundation, which also appoints about a quarter of the school governors. However, the local authority employs the school's staff and has primary responsibility for the school's admission arrangements.